gig flyer
When we heard that Jay Stevens from the fantastic Aussie celtic-folk-punk band BETWEEN THE WARS was coming over to these shores to play a few solo shows we jumped at the chance to do the London leg of his tour. so we thought we’d ask him some stuff so we did and he answered it all and here it is now for you…
BTW
How long have you been playing with BTW? have you played with other bands previous? Between The Wars is a four year old band that I started, along with (ukulele player) Jason. He and I have played in plenty of bands before this one, but this is the longest I’ve ever been in a band. So many lineup changes, but we’ve been pretty solid for the last couple years. I started this band after hearing “Irish Londoner” by the Bible Code Sundays, who I get to play with on this upcoming tour!
jay5
Looks like the tour is shaping up into something special now. Who are you looking forward to playing with and any places youre looking forward to going? Being a Aussie have you been over here before? As I said before, Bible Code Sundays are a massive influence on me and our band, so I’m keen as hell to see them. Have also been a huge Neck fan for years so I’m excited to play a show with Leeson! Over the years I’ve made some good “internet” friends in England so with that in mind, I’m stoked to be playing a few shows with my boys from the Lagan and Three Sheets T’Wind – and swapping Office quotes in real life with Brendan O’Prey. I’ve been to England before, but not as an adult. Really excited to see London, watch a Blades game in Sheffield (lifelong Sheffield United fan) and to also see the Scottish villages of Stranraer & Portpatrick, where I will also be attending my cousin’s wedding! If you’re looking for a decent League One side to watch you should get along to Leyton Orient. At time of writing we’re top of the league! If I was looking for a decent League One side to watch, I wouldn’t be a Blades fan.

As the singer and main songwriter of the excellent Between The Wars how did you get into celtic-punk music? Was it through family or other music? I have to hand it to old mate John McCullagh, actually. I was in a bit of a hole, musically. After having kids and whilst I was watching my marriage go down the drain, I didn’t know what to do, I just knew I wanted to be in a band again. I was teaching John’s son (John Lennon McCullagh, now signed to Alan McGee’s label 359 Music in the UK) to play guitar, and John and I would always have banter about Bob Dylan, Celtic, Arctic Monkeys, Oasis etc after the lessons. He showed me a few songs he’d written and we got together a few times and played them. One of those songs was Ride On by Christy Moore. I hadn’t heard Christy before but I am in love with him now. From there, I looked up as much celtic folk, and then celtic folk punk, as I could – I’d been a fan of the Dropkick Murphys and Flogging Molly for ages but never looked outside of that. I came across the Biblecode Sundays, and my musical life changed.
jay4
I’ve always thought that Australian celtic-punk has been a cut above, both musically and lyrically, bands from Europe and the States. I cant put me finger on it but does the Oz celtic diaspora experience contribute to this or are you all just better writers and musicians? I think we bring our own style to it. There have been a bunch of amazing Australian artists over the years, both in folk, punk and rock music. Personally I’m a huge fan of an old Aussie band called Weddings Parties Anything. I’ve always looked to them for influence, as well as celtic bands that tell stories – and not just stories of drinking. The difference between listening to the Wolfe Tones rather than the Dropkick Murphys means perhaps a little bit more storytelling in the writing. I suppose any country with the legendary Ned Kelly as its symbol of resistance is gonna produce cracking music! Who are the Aussie celtic/folk-punk bands we should look out for? Heard any news on The Rumjacks getting back together? Yep, that’s definitely happening. Caught up with Johnny McKelvey at a show we played with the Real McKenzies and it looks like the album that was made at the start of last year will show its head. As for Aussie bands, you can never go past our good mates the Ramshackle Army. They are just finishing up their new record which should be a cracker. Also a fan of Paddy McHugh and the Goldminers, Handsome Young Strangers and our old mates in Mutiny who have just released a twenty year retrospective.
jay2Theres always been a lot of debate in celtic punk circles about so-called ‘foreign’ bands playing (stealing?) traditional folk music without respecting where it comes from. Do you think it matters much or at all? I don’t know too much about bands that steal or play traditional folk without the respect. We try to pay respect as much as we can to those that have come before – we’ve played the traditional folk song Barbara Allen, for example. I think ultimately music belongs to everyone – the more people that play or listen has got to be a good thing for music in general. No-one has any right to claim music as their own personal property. Providing you know where it comes from, I can’t see an issue – i’m well aware that our music represents bands that have come before like the Wolfe Tones, Dubliners and the Pogues. I know the stories behind most of the songs I listen to, in regards to rebel songs and the like. There is a lot of snobbery around especially about the drinking songs. I mean its not like The Dubliners ever wrote a song about getting pissed is it? i think celtic-punk reflects the good and bad things in the lives of ordinary people. This could be both getting pissed and being a alcoholic and lets face it it very much part of celtic culture whether we approve of it or not.

Without giving the game away too much what can we expect to look forward to on this tour? who are your influences as both a solo artist and as BTWs frontman? I’ve sat down with all of our songs and played around with them acoustically. Expect some songs to be a lot softer, and some songs to remain that raucous way that we’re known for. Influences – hmm, this is a tough one. I have a huge list of influences ranging from the Wolfe Tones, Dubliners and Christy Moore, through to Frank Turner, Matt Pryor, The Boy Least Likely To. Of course, Bruce Springsteen is probably one of my bigger influences – but more in lyrics than anything else. Too many bands these days try to ape Springsteen’s voice and it kind of shits me. I take a lot of influence from literature as well as stories of war. Anything where I can be on the side of the underdog makes me write.
 When you get back home after the tour what you going to be up to with the band? Any plans to keep up the solo stuff? The solo stuff is actually my priority at the moment, I’m in the studio recording a solo record, which will be a collection of songs – some originals, some covers, and a Between The Wars song. I’m really looking forward to that being released early next year. When I get back from the UK, I’m going to sit down with Jason and we’re going to write the next batch of Between The Wars songs. I’m keen on getting back to the roots of our sound after the last record. There’s a band from Melbourne that has actually just got back together called Catgut Mary and I think I’m looking to them as well as mates like the Lagan and Three Sheets T’Wind to give me some influence on the next lot. I’d like the band to get back into the studio early to mid-next year, with a view to a late 2014 release. Looking forward to meeting friends that I only know via facebook, and making new friends. Can’t wait to teach you all the shoey!
jayDiscography:
Carried Away- 2010
The Rats- 2011
The Aces Are Coming- 2011
New Ruins- 2012
Won’t Go Quietly-2013
Tour Details Here:
The ‘I Hear You’re In For A Cold One…’ Tour traverses the land from London to Glasgow throughout October providing solo acoustic  re-imaginings of Between The Wars songs.
Come along for a night of fun folk music about drinking, heartbreak, regret, drinking, drinking and drinking…
Between The Wars:

Discover more from LONDON CELTIC PUNKS WEB-ZINE

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

12 responses to “INTERVIEW WITH JAY STEVENS FROM AUSTRALIAN BAND ‘BETWEEN THE WARS’”

  1. Steph Up Piztt Avatar
    Steph Up Piztt

    oops .. I so felt I was ‘foreign’..
    coming from a very distant land of celtic culture … and just learn and explore everything with my friends here. honest, originated from Flogging Molly, and we increasingly understand that all does not stop there. Many great bands out there .. not only within the celtic punk, but also far from The Dubliners to Julie Fowlis
    yap, however I really like this music, especially celtic punk.

    but I saw an answer from Jay … and hopefully it will be fine

    “No-one has any right to claim music as their own personal property. Providing you know where it comes from, I can’t see an issue”

  2. Donny Avatar
    Donny

    Couldn’t agree more. When bands like the Dubliners and the Tones formed they were cursed by many for ruining Irish music!
    As for ‘foreign’ bands playing Irish music i wish my Grandad was still alive to see how Irish music is played and flourishing all over the world and not just in the places our ancestors washed up in.He’d be so proud to see how far we’ve come.

    1. Steph Up Piztt Avatar
      Steph Up Piztt

      for we who are outside the land of origin of celtic music, an article, an opinion, or a conversation in a forum like this will give a positive value to increase knowledge, when we try to to dig deeper.of course we don’t ever intend to “steal”,I’m sure as well as all of my friends or other bands who also came from outside the land of origin of celtic music, we listen, we tried to play, it’s because we love this music.

  3. londoncelticpunks Avatar
    londoncelticpunks
  4. Searon Ni Bhaird Avatar
    Searon Ni Bhaird

    First time to go and had a brilliant time will certainly be going along to the next gig!!

  5. Paul Trevorrow Avatar
    Paul Trevorrow

    The most important question, did Jay do a shoey?

  6. Alan O'Grady Avatar
    Alan O’Grady

    Great night and good craic. Heard some mighty songs from Leeson O’Keefe. Every one else was on form as well.

  7. ‘THE LAGAN’S DEN’ PODCAST 18/10/2013 | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS Avatar
    ‘THE LAGAN’S DEN’ PODCAST 18/10/2013 | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS

    […] Interview With Jay Stevens From Australian Band ‘Between the Wars’ (londoncelticpunks.wordpress.com) […]

  8. STANDARD UNION: “The Myth Of Terra Nullius” EP (2014) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS Avatar
    STANDARD UNION: “The Myth Of Terra Nullius” EP (2014) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS

    […] who reads my reviews will know I have a thing for Aussie celtic-punk bands (here and here) and these fella’s from Melbourne are no exception. Keeping up the extremely high […]

  9. THE RUMJACKS… AND IRISH PUBS! | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS Avatar
    THE RUMJACKS… AND IRISH PUBS! | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS

    […] can check out the truth of that here here […]

  10. ALBUM REVIEW: JAY WARS- ‘Carry Me Home’ (2014) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS Avatar
    ALBUM REVIEW: JAY WARS- ‘Carry Me Home’ (2014) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS

    […] either. For whatever reason, and we’ve touched on it in this interview with Jay before (here), the Australian bands just seem to be better story tellers than most. Their songs have an uncanny […]

  11. ALBUM REVIEW: JAY WARS AND THE HOWARD YOUTH- ‘Love In The Time Of Fear’ (2016) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS WEB-ZINE Avatar
    ALBUM REVIEW: JAY WARS AND THE HOWARD YOUTH- ‘Love In The Time Of Fear’ (2016) | 30492 LONDON CELTIC PUNKS WEB-ZINE

    […] got a load of related stuff here including an interview with Jay here, a review of the first Jay Wars album Carry Me Home here and a review of the final Between The […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.