ALBUM REVIEW: THE RUMJACKS- ‘Sober And Godless’ (2015)

Regular readers should already know our opinion on the Sydney band The Rumjacks, so rather than me ranting and raving about what a great band they are and how brilliant Australian celtic-punk is we got a guest reviewer in but unfortunatly he turned out to be just as massive a fan of The Rumjacks as I am!

By Shane O’Neill

The Rumjacks- 'Sober And Godless' (2015)

It’s been almost five (long) years since the Sydney celtic-punk outfit released their highly acclaimed album ‘Gangs Of New Holland’ album. When I bought it first the album almost drove me mad…not because it was a bad album, quite the opposite. I couldn’t stop listening to it and the songs wouldn’t leave my head. I’ve lost count with the night sleep I have lost as a result of ‘Uncle Tommy’, ‘McLaughlins Rant’, ‘The Black Matilda’ etc etc constantly playing through my head on repeat. Eventually I had to stop listening to The Rumjacks just to get a nights sleep!!

“Well I’m livin’ with the mistakes I’ve made,
– ‘plenty more where I’m from’,
I’m robbin’ peter so Paul gets paid,
– ‘plenty more where I’m from.’
I’ve strayed so far from the open road,
I’ve been places my shadow refused to go”

“I’ll shift my share but I won’t shift the blame,
– ‘plenty more where I’m from’,
I respect my neighbour and expect the same,
– ‘plenty more where I’m from’,
I’ve strayed so far from the open road,
I’ve been places my shadow refused to go”

Now here we are once again with the release of ‘Sober And Godless’. It’s always difficult to follow up a brilliant album with another but all credit to The Rumjacks as they have delivered. From the intro of ‘Home Rule’ to the last note of ‘400 Miles Away’ this is a brilliant album. The album packs plenty of punch with Frankie’s unique vocals rolling out some well thought out and classic lyrics. It’s difficult to pick out the best tunes on this album but ‘No Pockets In A Shroud’, ‘Sober And Godless’ and the lively ‘The Reaper And Tam McCorty’ definitely stand out. I’ve been trying to listen to this album in moderation but I can find myself slipping back into the same trap as before. Looks like many sleepless nights ahead!!

(left to right) Anthony-    drums  Adam: banjo/mandolin Frankie: vocals/tin whistle/ Gabriel: guitars  Johnny: bass

(left to right) Anthony- Drums  Adam- Banjo and Mandolin  Frankie- Vocals and Tin Whistle  Gabriel- Guitars  Johnny- Bass

If you haven’t already done so get your hands on this album. It’s a must for anyone who likes their music with a celtic- punk twist!! Hopefully we will be lucky enough to see The Rumjacks on these shores later this year. These guys are definitely going places but please don’t leave us waiting another five years for the next masterpiece.

Contact The Band

WebSite  Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  YouTube  Soundcloud

Buy The Album

FromThe Band  iTunes

for more of our writings on The Rumjacks check out the following articles

Single Review: ‘Blows And Unkind Words’ here

30492-London Celtic Punks Top Twenty Celtic-Punk Albums Of All Time here

The Rumjacks And Irish Pubs here

The Rumjacks Discography

Hung Drawn And Ported (EP) 2009 * Sound As A Pound (EP) 2009 * Gangs Of New Holland (Album) 2010 * Crosses For Eyes (Single) 2012 * Blows And Unkind Words (Single) 2014 * Plenty (Single) 2014 * Sober And Godless (Album) 2015

The Rumjacks

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

