Acoustic Alternative Folk Rock.
Made in Bretagne. Inspired in Ireland.

We’re big fans of Callum Houston and when we heard he had a new single out we had a quick chat to find out the lowdown on what it was all about.

This song first started out as a chord pattern I randomly came up with and posted on Facebook. I was then convinced to make a song out of it by my friend Anthony who plays with the Ska band The Groovin’ Jailers from the North of France. I had meet him previously while on tour with the Graveyard Johnnys when we had shared a stage together. I quickly made a structure for the song and sent it to him to put record some Dobro over the top. I had just got back from doing a week long St Patrick’s Facebook tour where I played live with a number of musicians in different locations all across Bretagne. My head was full of old Irish ballads so I cut a load of lines from songs and pasted them together to make a Frankenstein style ballad of my own. The words seemed to fall into place easily and actually pretty well portrayed the week that proceeded them. Both my parts and Anthony’s parts were recorded in our own home studios. I then sent the track over to another great friend and even better musician Sleeper Bill from Rennes, he added some piano and then with ease took over the mixing and mastering malarkey which I am hopeless at. The beautiful artwork was hand crafted by my good neighbor Maire Pauline. It was great fun creating it together and I hope you can enjoy it as much as I did. More music will follow in the coming months and some concerts (fingers crossed).

As I roved out one morning, at the dawning of the day,
I meet a pretty maid, traipsing along my way,
Like a fox caught in the headlights,
I looked with surprise,
My mind being bent on rambling,
away I did fly
*
I said no nay never, no never again,
I’ve traveled many miles, from glen to glen,
There’s some that you fuss over, and some that you forgo,
I fell right for a raggle taggle gypsyo,
*
 Her eyes they shone like diamonds,
she’s the queen of this town,
Like an angel I have lost my wings, fallen to the ground,
There was whiskey in the jar, and the maid behind the bar, it was the parting glass,
Her eyes they shone like diamonds,
she’s the queen of this town,
Like an angel I have lost my wings, fallen to the ground,
There was whiskey in the jar, and the maid behind the bar gave the parting glass,
That went just a little too far
*
 Now through the Foggy Dew,
I search for you, as I rove around,
the streets of this Dirty old Town.
*
Callum Houston – Guitar, Vocals / Anthony Francois – Dobro / Sleeper Bill – Piano
Mixed and mastered by Sleeper Bill / Artwork by Marie Pauline Van Parys
To promote the single Callum performed a craicing live stream set of original material. If you missed it fear not click here to be re-directed straight there! Music begins from 3 minutes in and lasts just over a hour. The single costs just €0.99 so help out struggling artists by helping them to get a pint!

Download As I Roved Out One Morning  FromCallum

Contact Callum Houston  Facebook  Bandcamp  YouTube  Spotify


Discover more from LONDON CELTIC PUNKS WEB-ZINE

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Posts

Tags

Random Posts

Sites Of Interest

Shite'n'Onions
Shite’n’Onions
Potato-eating, Whiskey-drinking, Bog-trotting, CELTIC PUNK ROCK
celtic-rock.de
celtic-rock.de
audio / video / radio / photo
Celtic Music Fan
Celtic Music Fan
Your source of indie Celtic music news from around the world.
Justice for the Craigavon Two
Justice for the Craigavon Two
Free Brendan McConville and John-Paul Wootton
GREENLAND WHALEFISHERS
GREENLAND WHALEFISHERS
Official Greenland Whalefishers web page
Ferocious Blog
Ferocious Blog
Ferocious Dog and associated acts
the shamrock
the shamrock
A Celtic Retrospective
Irish Myths
Irish Myths
plumbing the depths of Irish and Celtic mythology, legend, and folklore

Click on the picture to hear the very best in Celtic-Folk-Punk both old and new from MacSlon’s Irish Pub Radio