NEW SINGLE: HOUNDS OF BELFAST SALUTE THE PATRON SAINT OF HOPELESS CAUSES – ST. JUDE

Written by:

The new single from Los Angeles based Irish-American Celtic-Punk band Hounds Of Belfast is another original song dedicated to all the fellow hopeless causes out there scraping by and hustling to make ends meet and surely keeps the bar high!

After first featuring on these pages last August we have since found it hard to keep up with LA Irish American band Hounds Of Belfast with the band even having to give us a nudge to remind us to mention their new single! Formed in 2018 and blending the heart of traditional Irish music with the energy and attitude of Punk they have gained a dedicated following in the Los Angeles music scene and with a bunch of great singles behind them have started to make fans beyond too. Taking their name from frontman Jake’s ancestral home the Hounds Of Belfast somehow manage to pack infectious melodies, foot-stomping rhythms and rebellious spirit into short 3-minute blasts of Celtic-Punk!

Hounds Of Belfast: Jake Ferree – Lead Vocals / Guitar * Allison Sulock – Hammered Dulcimer / Flute / Irish Whistle * Ian Mackley – Accordion / Dobro / Electric Guitar * Shirin – Violin * Edson Black – Bass * Kritika Malhotra – Drums *

The new singles a swirling moving tribute to the working classes and those that just get on with it in life. Classic American Irish blue collar Celtic-Punk in the slower sense but with a real Irish-Folk feel to it throughout. Hounds Of Belfast may have been around for a few years now but their recent output has been absolutely brilliant. We’re looking forward to an album or at least a singles compilation guys!!

Wipe the sleep, that’s in my eyes 
clock in clock out that’s me 
and numb the pain that’s in my heart with whiskey and pills 
every day my soul they take my blood is next 
clock in clock out that’s me. 
*
Chorus 
But thank you Saint Jude for leading me here, 
this working man’s life keeps me humble and clear. 
Sometimes I struggle, but I always have you. 
These hands are blistered and blue. 
*
The gangs all here it’s happy hour 
clock in clock out that’s me, 
and I hear the voices from my past with so much reverence and joy. 
But my ears are bleeding from my Boss 
clock in clock out that’s me. 
*
Chorus
But thank you Saint Jude for leading me here,
this working man’s life keeps me humble and clear. 
Sometimes I struggle, but I always have you 
these hands are blistered and blue.

Contact Hounds Of Belfast  WebSite  Facebook  YouTube  Instagram


Discover more from LONDON CELTIC PUNKS WEB-ZINE

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.